Camera Shy's Fence and Van Gogh's Ear

In his most recent post, Offence , camera shy described many of my days with the Blip perfectly: "work, work, work, work, ...shooting, ...tweaking, ...cropping, ...losing heart, ...losing two hours,... post anything." At least sometimes it felt that way. I guess camera shy felt that way too.

Recently, I called for help. And, I have received recommendations from all over the bliposphere. So now I will begin my study in ernest. I will call this my International Blipfoto Home Study Course. This is my third lesson.

Assignment Objectives: Shoot something in your yard (benek)
Get a wide angle lens (scintilla)
Shoot a fence (dedicated to camera-shy)
Shoot what you like, what makes you feel good (many)

A special note to camera shy: Please, in no way should you think that I am trying to compete with you on the fence image. Instead, know this: I caused you much grief about the creativity thing. You expressed that frustration about the fence image. I thought it appropriate that I also expose myself to the hardships of shooting a fence.

Now, what about Van Gogh's ear?

There are several stories, but most attribute the ear cutting incident to a fit of anger and depression. Was he dissatisfied with the creativity expressed in his paintings? Or was it that no one expressed enough interest in his work? (There was no Blipfoto, or course, back in those days.) Or was he crazy?

One story suggests that Van Gogh attacked a fellow painter Paul Gauguin. In the local pub, an argument progressed to a brawl. Van Gogh lunged at Gauguin with a razor, but was fended off. When Van Gogh returned to his room he lopped off his ear with the razor to make amends with Gauguin. Well that's one story.

So, camera shy, I do not wish to lop off my ear, but here is my fence 'post'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.