wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Remember

Today is Veteran's day.
There was a parade this morning where they marched down Congress street and placed laurel wreaths on the plaques at City Hall.
First of all I couldn't find the WW1 or WW2 monument.
There is an enormous monument called Our Lady of Victories. I thought that was the war monument. It was for the Civil war.
And may I say, it is quite the monument. It was built when they knew how to really build a monument. I'll blip it sometime. (It was filled with pigeons this afternoon)

The plaques commemorating the Spanish American war, the KoreanWar, Vietnam, WW1 and 2. Are at City Hall. It seemed a small, almost insignificant monument considering all the people that were lost in those wars.

I lost an uncle in WW2. He was shot down over France. I never met him. My Mother didn't speak of him much. It was too painful.

My father served in the navy in WW2.

My brother in law served in Desert Storm.

These men are my heroes.

I look at the pictures on Blipfoto today and I am so moved. The pictures of family members from past wars to the current picture of Alex's daughter.
All these pictures spark respect and pride in my heart regardless of the country. My familial roots are from Scotland yet I feel connected to everyone on this site on days like this..

So I raise a pint to the men,women and our four legged friends who have served are serving us so well.


Thank You and God bless

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.