fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Remembrance Sunday

I struggle a bit with Remembrance Day - more of that tomorrow, I expect - but today I went down to the market square to see Dan and Abi parading, with the Scouts and Cubs respectively, along Kirkby Lonsdale's Main Street to the church.

The Kirkby Lonsdale Brass Band led the way with a curiously upbeat selection of tunes, although I guess that when it comes to marching songs, you're going to struggle to find much that is appropriately sombre.

The band's jackets are a maroon colour and, on this chilly, sunny morning, they looked rather splendid. However, the fact is that this photo just worked a lot better in black and white. In the doorway of the Royal Hotel, you can see my daughter, Milly, taking two minutes off work to come and watch the preparations in the square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.