OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

The Glow Tree

This city isn't all affluence, but we knit-your-own-yoghurt leafy East Oxford middle classes do speak in particularly hushed tones of the "poverty" of Blackbird Leys, just a couple of kilometres further out from the dreaming spires.

When I went today, I was pretty sure it would be just like most estates in northern England, the twin towers of its Windrush and Evenlode tower blocks only seeming poor in comparison with the abundance of riches in the city's centre.

But I was wrong - it wasn't nearly as grim as up north! It's not all sweetness and light either, but when I stumbled across this gleaming, six metre high sculpture, I can almost believe it represents the harmony of its towerblocks, and thought what a great view they must have - the Leys really isn't so bad after all.

Whilst I may not be quite ready to up sticks and move to the scheme, neither am I the only one who thinks this isn't such a bad place to live - within weeks of the sculpture being unveiled it became home to a bird who set up a nest in its metal branches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.