Whitby

Long shadows on the "old side" in Whitby this morning. I bought a pair of kippers at Fortune's to go with the brace of grouse from yesterday's shoot. Spent the afternoon in the Esk Valley looking at properties. It's one of my favourite places. It was a lovely, bright sunny day today. This was the day we should have been on the moor. A long drive back this evening. Our car is white, or at least it was, and maybe still is under a layer of peaty mud. It did well though, on some spectacularly boggy tracks over the moor that were far more demanding than those at the Land Rover centre we visited the other week. The Abbey was nicely lit for the classic postcard shot but I blipped the street shot instead. It made a nice silhouette too. In this one I liked the little boy at the bottom almost mirroring the one in the sign above him. It'll take a day or two but I'm just building a little gallery from the trip.

I couldn't visit Whitby without popping in to the museum for a look at its fascinating collection of curiosities including the tempest prognosticator that uses leaches to predict the weather, and the rather grizzly Hand of Glory that is supposed to have magical powers.

The "blippers" of Smugmug have made my abbey pic the third most popular of the daily shots I post there. That was nice of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.