[blowfish]

By blowfish

hung

Thank you so much for your glorious feedback and response to my big 1000th Blip. Every one of your comments were highly appreciated and greatly valued. What a great place this is! And as the day after any milestone of mine, would be Kathryn's as she started Blip the day after I did. And then in a fortnight, Leah will be 1000 as well. It does feel like quite a milestone, getting into four digits worth of daily photographs.

Long day at school today, lecturing and reading. Still need to read some more. And then some more after that. So, you have my corduroy blazer, the one from the best back street thrift store in Paris (well, we only went to two, ha), hanging from the door into our bedroom.

Ready for me to take this downhill real fast? So, as some "light" reading (as in: not required for my upcoming exams), I finally picked up Robert Burton's great tome The Anatomy of Melancholy. A stout work heralded over the centuries. I like it for its ability to be picked up and read at any place in the text, at any time. In the first section where he discusses the causes of melancholy, the section on the "miseries of scholars" appears to be one of the longest. No surprise there? But, he writes: "they toil and moil, but what reap they?" Solid question, you morose old coot. And then it's back to the books for me.

And Levinas! He too has saved the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.