Journey Through Time

By Sue

Marshall House, Vancouver, WA

This is the Marshall House:

Built as quarters for the post commander, the house was named for General George C. Marshall who served as commander of Vancouver Barracks from 1936-38. This elegant Queen Anne Victorian home is available for weddings, receptions, parties and other special events.

I'm doing re-runs now, as I've blipped this pretty building before. This is where our son was married. It's a very busy place for weddings.

We went on some errands and I conned Bill into driving me to the Ft. Vancouver area and this is the best we could come up with for a picture today. But let me tell you...I saw the shot. But I couldn't get there. I should have screamed and put up a bigger fuss, but it was going to be an awkward thing to go back and I can only push my husband's kind, congenial nature just so far, especially in Friday afternoon traffic and increasing rain situation. BUT! Wow, we passed an old graveyard with big trees with yellow leaves that were falling down onto the gravestones, and the glimpse I saw of this place was so totally photogenic it made my heart skip a few beats. I don't know if I can get back there before the leaves get cleaned up around there or not. Probably not, but picture it in your mind's eye and THAT's the photo that should be here.

A proper rain is falling with some gentle gusts now and then and the leaves are dropping fast.

See ya later, kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.