Catherine's Journey

By camflutter

Blue team

Finally made it to the Raw Challenge at Barrington Tops today, and what an amazing day!! We were the blue team, who started in the red wave at 10.20am. This is taken just after the start. 8km and 30 obstacles is what lay ahead. The first 2km were a killer, up and over a rocky hill. I was thinking " what have I done? I must have been crazy to even think I could do something like this! But after we got over the top and the course opened up, I started believing again. To say we ran all the way would be a lie...not even nearly! But we had the most amazing time.. I definitely felt like the slow one, but I was having such an amazing time, I barely noticed. The mud was squishy and wet...and exhilarating! The high obstacles were scary and challenging, which made it even more satisfying to get over them. M was like a child, sprinting ahead, racing teenagers and having a ball. And he was so capable, flying over the high obstacles as if he does it every day. L's moment was when he scaled a 5-6m wooden wall in one leap, pulling himself up and over by his fingertips! C and J seemed to enjoy the time spent together. And everybody there became more and more inspired by each challenge overcome. I was the casualty of the day, getting myself tangled up in some barbed wire while climbing over a stile. I have some very impressive bruises on my thighs to show for my clumsiness and a lovely gash in my left calf. But we just kept on going! At least my Tetanus shot is now up to date for they next 5-10 years ;) This has been such a thought provoking day for me - it feels like a real life changer! I did it, even though I thought I was going to have to give up in the first 2km, even though I was the slowest, even though I could not do all the obstacles and even though I could not even nearly run all the way! I DID IT!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.