morning on the river

Ballyhilty Bridge over the Ilen river.

It was such a bright clear morning that I went out early with the camera and found myself on the banks of the Ilen again. There is a walkway to a platform right out in the water for anglers. I set up the tripod there and was completely absorbed for half and hour or so, trying out different things.

Then I turned around to look at the river behind me and there was an otter! It was not twenty feet from me, on its back int he water, munching on a fish.
I didnt even try to swing the camera around to get a shot of it, not wanting to startle it and spoil the magic of the moment. I watched it for a good while until it spotted me and lazily swam away.

A bright cold day. Gardening, tunnel clearing, leaf-raking. And our young woodsman friend came by to take a look at the trees he is going to take down for us.

I enjoyed the film last night, Philomena. Judi Dench gave a stellar performance. A very sad tale but uplifting too... I have felt haunted by it all day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.