Scribbler

By scribbler

'Speeding Automobile'

Benson Bubbler and speeding auto at NW 21st & Glisan.

VEHICLE is today's DDW challenge topic.

Vehicle: 1. thing used for transporting people or goods.
2. thing used to express, embody, or fulfill something.


I once stood for what felt like hours staring at a Cubist painting in the Museum of Modern Art. It was called 'Speeding Automobile' and I was determined to see that car! Just as I was about to give up I noticed the date of the painting, 1912, and realized that the shape of the automobile was half a century earlier than the one I'd been looking for.

The water fountain is a Benson Bubbler, dating from approximately the time of the Cubist painting. Behind it is a speeding auto, half a century later than the one I'd been looking for.

The only connection amongst these things is my memory. Thus I am a vehicle, and my photograph is a vehicle, and my blip is a vehicle.

The Benson Bubbler is also a vehicle, since it transports fresh water to thirsty Portlanders.

The orange hydrant is a vehicle too, ready to transport water to fire engines.

I'm sure there would be many more poems about vehicles, since they're such a poetic concept, but the word doesn't rhyme or scan easily. Nevertheless ...

There once was a fast-speeding vehicle
That got in a race with a bicycle.
The bike went ahead
When the stop light turned red
And the driver's expression was comical.


Here ended the free association.
I leave the interpretation to the Freudians and Jungians.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.