Before I was dazzled

Today is the end of a third consecutive 365 days of daily blipping since I first posted a photograph here. I thought at the time I started that I would do it for a while, and that other things would then result in me missing days, and probably stopping.

However, within weeks I was not just welcomed into the community that is blipfolio, but I was developing relationships through cyberspace. Something which I had long been sceptical about, but which over the last three years I have realised is not just possible; it is bound to happen. There is something about the photos, and more so the words that go with the pictures, that leads to people finding others who one wants to know, and wants to know what she or he is doing, and how his or her life is going.

I have learned a lot about topics that were unknown (at least in the detail) before. I have been able to share my thoughts and at times frustrations. And through it all I have been able to develop my eye and my skill and get more satisfaction from photography than I had been for some years before 2010.I have shared in some way the joys (and the occasional sadnesses) of my blipfriends.

Of greatest encouragement to me is the strong sense of fairness and justice that pervades the blips I visit, which allows me to feel hope for the future that my grandchildren will inhabit. There feels to be a network connecting me and others in Wales, Sydney, New Zealand, Yorkshire, Portland, Philadelphia, Shetland, the Western Isles (and elsewhere in Scotland), various other parts of the British Isles, and elsewhere.

Commenting (and at times having a wee rant, either in my commentary or in response) is a big part of the connectedness. I often find myself too busy to keep up regular comments, and then find myself going through a big catchup. There are also times when I will visit a journal and not comment, because of that shortage of time

I had thought that I would scout out my favourite photographs of the last year, or maybe even from the whole three years. I chose to not do that, and instead will merely reflect on the way that my approach has changed from seeing something (anything) while out on a run (or looking for something to fill in with), to having particular projects.

I have pursued images of Ponsonby Road, as part of a One Street project, as well as other projects of cafes, local thoughts, readers, and street art. That has all helped to ensure that I have not lost my enthusiasm for the daily blip. Over this last year I have started seeking photos of birds, and also to include people in my photos of street scenes. In January 2013 I started a personal challenge of posting a photo of the sunrise on Saturdays.

Over the three years I have been treated kindly by so many people who have made comments, given stars or a fave. I do value the feedback, and not infrequently, I have had another look at a photo, and seen what others saw and from that I have learned and become (I think) a better photographer.There is still much to learn and practice.

For the opportunity to do all these things, great thanks are due to the worthy souls at Blip headquarters who established this site, and have since maintained it, and maintained it at a bargain price and without advertisements everywhere.

Today has been a lovely day so far. I was able to enjoy a run and be treated to a fabulous sunrise. A quiet morning thereafter for me. S was busy preparing a really lovely lunch for good friends who came from a bit further north to see us; I did help with some of the cooking. We toasted my third birthday; some hours later they headed away, and I have come to the MacBook to post my blip. It is good large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.