Where Was I

I was 12 years old in 7th grade sitting in my Music Appreciation class. All excited about the holidays coming up and me soon to be a teenager and of course my life would change then, but my reality changed on November 22, 1963. We were all talking and laughing when the loud speaker came on telling us President Kennedy had been shot. Not that I had much concept of politics or really cared about politics, but the President shot - shock was all around.

I got home from school and my mother was in tears. She came and hugged me hard saying the President is dead. As the next few days unfolded and I watched Lee Harvey Oswald shot to death on live TV. My childish thoughts matured and I changed. A sad time in our history.

I must say here watching Jacqueline Kennedy over those days, her courage and how she handled herself and her children - no words really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.