Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Taj Mahal

Last night, by the full moon, the Taj looked ethereal. This morning, as the sun rose, it was much more substantial.

I decided to show you this view instead of the standard one from further away. Someone suggested that I go to a pool on the right side for the best reflections. You have to lie down on the pavement to get the shot and risk the astonished views of many passers-by, but it was worth it.

There were crowds of people from the time of first opening. The women's queue was in two rows which was hopeful, since the men were in very quickly, but the 2 rows became 1 for the searches, so there was no advantage.

Mohsin was patient while I took photographs, but just had to give me all the details before I left.

The rest of the day, until late evening, was spent in the car travelling to Orchha. It is probably the worst journey I have ever made. I felt more and more unwell, but thought it was tiredness. We arrived at the tiny village homestay at 8.30pm where the electricity promptly failed; I coughed and vomited profusely..... Then I felt a lot better. What a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.