54stairs

By MarnieL

Abba on Keizersgracht

Yeah Team! 2013 Grey Cup Champions!!!

We didn’t get much sleep last night so it was an effort to get moving today. Once started, however, I enjoyed a leisurely stroll and some window shopping in the City Centre.

Keizersgracht, the Emperor’s Canal, is one of the three main residential canals in the city centre that were developed in the 17th century. I find the architecture of the canal houses very interesting, especially those with gables that are adorned with scrollwork, ornamentation, or a family shield. The bridges and reflections in the canal are also quite beautiful, so I took my time on the street, snapping photos of the canal, of the facades and of the pretty pinks in the sky as the sun set.

As I meandered over one of the canal bridges, I heard singing. Then I saw this trio, colourful legs dangling over the side of the canal, singing their Abba repertoire. When they noticed me, they just kept on singing, but smiled and waved and allowed their photo to be taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.