A bit nippy BUT sunny

At thios time of year it seems you have either cool, wet, grey or cold, dry, sun. While no fan of cold, have to admit I prefer this and having the sun.

Today had to go to Ottobeuren so combined it with filling a large tank of diesel for the tractor. I had forgotten to get winter diesel in to the system before it froze. Hope I can get it started later this week when I have to bring in the next silage bale. Also of course a walk with the dogs not in the forest but out in the open, lapping up the sunshine. Downside, the sun had melted the ice on the very muddy fields & tracks and the dogs were so filthy, I had to tempt them in the river at the end of the walk to get their bellies washed.

I think I have Bliped the building before, this time though it's for Dave as a belated present for his 1000th Blip. After taking it I suddenly thought "does Dave have pigeons or doves?" Then it occured to me that I don't know the difference myself, can't even remember having been faced with the question. Back home, a quick Google and not sure I know much more. Anyway the pigeons and/or doves on the balcony were thoroughly enjoying the sun.

Another late Blip due to having to make a few gallons of soup with the remaining fennel and celery - seperate not mixed. It's more in puree form, which I will freeze and then make in to a soup as needed. Still have some celeriac in the garden but think it improves with a touch of frost.

Water in the horse stables was frozen this evening as it barely got above freezing all day. Switched on the water pipe heating cable and less than 5 minutes later it was free. Then switched it off again as it is very expensive and just hope the horses keep takin a sip or two through the night. Not a serious risk as only likely to be perhaps -5°C.

Am now exhausted and will try to catch up on Blips tomorrows. Hope all had a good start to the week.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.