South Australian sunset

S and I were up early this morning in order to get to the airport for an early morning flight from Auckland to Adelaide. Almost too late I had made up my mind to come to the annual conference of ANZAPPL, a group of which I am a member, satisfying as it does my interests in law as well as psychiatry. Registration fortunately had been extended by a week. Enough air points had been gathered and not previously used, that I am able to bring S with me.

A direct flight this morning, and even with the head wind we arrived early enough (because of the 2.5 hour time difference) that I only missed the opening plenaries. Attended some thought provoking presentations on ethical issues. Such as when serious offenders who are found not guilty by reason of insanity remain detained (in a hospital) when treatment has resolved the illness which was deemed to have been both cause of the offence, and excused the offender. There are no simple answers.

I have had an enjoyable time renewing contact with some of the lawyers, academicians, psychologists and psychiatrists I have met over the years through this group, and in my work.

Although not yet late, our early rise and the time zone change means we have been awake now for over 17 hours. Stayed in the hotel room for a snack from the kitchen. Looked out the window and saw the sun (which had been hidden all day by rain clouds) setting. As I now never travel without a camera, the result is here.

S has used the opportunity of uninterrupted time on her laptop to complete the 50,000 words NaNoWriMo. WELL DONE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.