0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"It's so embarrassing, I can't do it, people are looking at me!"

I had the day off work today as I was attending a cookery course at Jamie’s Ministry of Food. A long time ago I filled out a survey about eating habits, the result of which was a free place on the course. EDIT - I just realised how that sounds, it wasn't like that of course :)

I have no idea how much the course costs but it seemed like a good idea at the time. Anyway, the introductory day started with learning about basic food groups - knowing which to eat, and which to avoid. I think we all know these but it’s hard to put into practice on a daily/weekly basis.

The main theme was centered around breakfasts and the chef showed us how to make porridge first. Oats are the best thing for reducing cholesterol apparently (I did not know that). We then moved onto eggs, specifically how to make the perfect omelette, and how to poach eggs without ending up with a wet mess. We then got to try out one of the above for ourselves, which was good fun.

Afterwards, I met up with fellow photographer and blipper MrJohn. He mentioned seeing some interesting buskers on his way in so we headed towards the centre. At some point along the way, I got distracted by Hannah here and started taking portraits. She was reluctant at first saying she would catch-up with us later, but I knew that wouldn’t happen so I gently persuaded her and took a few shots before she lost her nerve.

Hannah is an illustrator and pattern designer, and runs a successful art company by the name of Hankypot. I’ve been looking for someone to design a logo for my project for a while now so I took her card and said I’d contact her soon.

As luck would have it, we bumped into her again later outside Triba Records - a small, out of the way, art shop selling graffiti products. She mentioned the place and said she knew the guys working there, and we could get some interesting portraits there, which we indeed did! I was in two minds about blipping the portrait I took in there against Hannah’s but decided to go with this one as it led to the others in some way. I’m sure MrJohn will post his pics up on Flickr, my additional portraits will appear on the page below at some point.

We wandered around a bit more, this time in the open market. MrJohn ran into some familiar friends/canines, and I managed to get a portrait of a stunning model type, my first in the market! (though it’s not a typical person you’d see at that place).

Happy Thanksgiving and Hanukkah to those celebrating!


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.