A journey through Zogland

By Zog

Fast train approaching

I was going to pick up my wife from the station tonight and went down early on purpose to try to get some slow shutter speed shots of trains.

I waited a while and then came the announcement "Keep away from the platform edge. Fast train approaching". I got the set up. Shutter priority, medium fast ISO, framed the shot. Saw the lights in the distance then realised something was wrong. It was too dark. Then along thundered ..... a goods train. A massive long goods train with no windows to create my blur. Waited another few minutes and another "Keep away from the platform edge. Fast train approaching". This must be the Glasgow express. Got ready again. Blow me if it's not another goods train.

Finally after about 20 mins waiting the express appeared, but it must have been running ahead of schedule because it wasn't really a 'fast train'. It just trundled past at a leisurely pace. Anyway, I got a few shots and did a bit of layering in Potatoshop and here's the result. I'm happy with it, and it's another mono, to add to my week's tally.

365/332

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.