Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

The Harbour at Dusk

When you are back to yet another grey wet day, which also happens to be windy, how do you blip some outdoor colour? The thought had been in my mind most of the day and as the afternoon wore on I began to hope for a bit of sunset colour through the clouds. However, it soon became clear it was not to be.

I have been thinking recently of experimenting with long exposure landscapes to blur the movement of water, clouds, grasses etc and make the overall effect a lot softer. I have even asked Santa for a decent neutral density filter and good old Amazon have emailed me to say it is sorted! So, in preparation for my new toy, I decided to head down to the harbour to play about with long exposures.

The results were mixed, but at least there were some colours from the lights and their reflections. The water which was quite rough at the harbour entrance was smoothed out nicely allowing the lights to reflect on the surface. However, the bobbing boats ended up blurry and the masses of seagulls that were flying about disappeared. Despite using a tripod, the strong gusty wind took the edge of the sharpness of things that weren't moving.

Plenty of activity on the harbour though with a lorry loading up with the day's catch and a tanker on the right driving away after fueling the boats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.