From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

St Andrew's Day - 'I'll give it foive!'

Right! All together now. I want everyone joining in with a rousing song!

'O flower of Scotland
When will we see your like again
That fought and died for
Your wee bit hill and glen
And stood against him
Proud Edward's army
And sent him homeward
Tae think again'


No? Oh well. No wonder the sun has disappeared. If music be the food of love, I'd better move into the restaurant as I'm flamin' starving! I will leave the singing to the seagulls as they were in fine voice today. A little while earlier, mom and I sat on a bench up the road from Farm Foods where we'd just bought a lovely thick sliced Hovis loaf and mom ripped the bread into small pieces inside a carrier bag. I smiled inanely at curious passers by hoping we didn't look like a couple of old bag ladies.

Anyway, our feathered friends were pleased to see us. I was lucky to come away with my head as mom has developed a really bad habit of throwing the bread right at me and with hair and a jacket covered in crumbs, I am part of the dinner. This is one of the very few shots I was able to take when things had calmed down enough for me not to have my arms wrapped around my head for protection!

M&S was the next stop where I bought a black glittery top which looks great with jeans, even if I do say so myself. I won't go to 'Grab a Grannie' night at the Twa Dogs later as I'd probably get picked up in this new top (and put down again in a hurry).

Other news - I emailed my lovely Edinburgh landlord, David Kay, with my March dates which will stand, regardless of what I am up to then. He emailed me back to say I could have room foive! Actually, he didn't say 'foive' with an atrocious Brummie accent as per Juke Box Jury but you get the idea. I am thrilled as room five/foive is the marvellous one I had in September!

Enough of this trivia. I am glad to be here in Ayr for St Andrew's Day. I am in the right country for a change. Happiness for everyone today is tinged with sadness for the tragedy which occurred in Glasgow yesterday evening when a police helicopter crashed into a pub full of Friday revellers. I speak for everyone when I say our hearts go out to the families of the three who died and the injured. Admiration goes to the brave people who went into the pub to help pull people out.

Track? It had to be the Red Hot Chilli Pipers tonight with an appropriate one for today - Flower Of Scotland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.