The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Something unexpected

The shore, Silverdale

What had started as a bright day clouded up with the afternoon. Wifie was on her Tai Chi day, and Gus and I went to Jack Scout in the faint hope the sun might make a last minute appearance. But it didn't, we lingered a while and then decided to call it a day, have a quick scout around Wolf House for possible Wifie presents and head home. The sunset that had fizzled out 15 minutes earlier erupted as we were coming into Silverdale, and we diverted down onto the shore, a place I have rarely gone to seek a blip.

There were other photographers gathered, but they were standing back from the water's edge. Yet the reflections of the sky in the still water were too good to miss. As I approached the edge of the channel, looking down into the water I felt like I was falling into the sky. We don't get many sunsets like this in the year, and this one arrived quite unexpectedly. I am still no clearer when a good sunset is going to happen, but I am grateful for the experience of this one. Thank goodness I didn't stop for a tea and cake at Wolf House, and I don't say that very often.

Shame about the Wales vs Australia match, so near yet so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.