Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

The Waverley Piper

In Large

I went to Edinburgh to stay with my brother at the end of last week, it was nice to have a break from the isolation again.

We were walking down Prince's St when we past some bloke dressed up in an alien costume. Suddenly Theo went on the other side of me; "ughh, what the hell is that thing?!- I hate people in costumes. At the Hive they sometimes have a guy dressed a cookie monster, I spend most the night trying to get away from it. It's like, just because this person you don't even know has put on a costume, you're expected to hug them and stuff..."

He was right.

We forget that deep down, beneath the fur, there's a person under there and they might not even be that nice.

Or they might be really nice, but by hugging them you could be part of their struggle with an identity crisis and, perhaps, severe desensitisation to hugs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.