Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Sunset on a Glorious Competition

Well today I travelled North to Old Trafford with my best friend and blip beginner The Chunkster. We were going to watch the final of the Rugby League World Cup which would be contested between New Zealand (who knocked England out in the semis with a last second try) and Australia.

We had pretty good seats, athough not quite as close to the action as I had for the England v Ireland group game.

It was amazing watching the New Zealanders performing the Haka and seeing how the Aussies respected the tradition before the game kicked off.

We were expecting a close game of highly competitive Rugby League as these were the two top ranked nations in the competition, but today the Kangaroos were in a different class and New Zealand were just simply blown away by the Aussies, who ran out 34-2 winners.

It was gloriously sunny day (were we really in Manchester?) and as the sun set in the second half we were treated to an amazing sunset sky behind the Stretford End stand, and I took this picture to sum up the wonderful end to what has been a brilliant competition, which was capped off by a sell out 75000 crowd which was a record for an International Rugby League match.

I'll try and get some of my other pictures from the day onto my Flickr account in the next day or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.