Ring of Tyres

By Tyres

Composting

Sometimes I think I get more fun out of making compost than I do out of eating the resulting veg.

That is until I sit down to a plateful... of veg, not compost.


Right to Left.

New heap, been cooking for a couple of months whilst we added ingredients to get it up to a 1m cube. In the pic it's partially transfered to...

...middle heap. The pic is in the process of me (and Madeye, she's very helpful) turning the first heap into the next bin. Added some final ingredients - nettles, poultry manure and some garden trimmings and when all of the contents of the first bin is turned into it (didn't quite get it finished today) it will be tucked up and left over winter.

Final heap in the process of being used up.

The far right bin will then be used to collect the ingredients for the next new heap.

Exciting isn't it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.