Coming soon

Today was the first day of another locum position in the inpatient ward where I once worked. As we had stayed at the beach house, I needed to leave early this morning to get there at a reasonable time. That meant that my run was early, and I was out well before actual sunrise. It was almost high tide as I ran along by the edge of Snells Beach.

I stopped a number of times to take a photo, and this was the second last. The sun had still to show itself above, or through, the clouds. Partly because I thought one of the last two photos would be my choice anyway, but mostly because I didn't have the time to hang around waiting.

As it turned out, going up the hill away from the beach front I saw the sun emerge, with instantaneous dazzling. And on looking at the photos I already had, this is eminently pleasing to me as another example of the beauteous sunrises I am exposed to on my morning runs.

Take a look at the larger version

I was forcibly reminded of the ghastliness of the morning commute from places north. A trip that should have been about 40 - 45 minutes took at least a half hour more. All the extra time came from the last 5 km. In my youth I could have beaten the traffic easily. At my current age I wouldn't have been much behind the traffic had I got out and run.

A relatively gentle re-introduction to the ward today, welcomed back by staff and patients who remember me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.