Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Spick and span

It was a bright day but every once in a while I just have to do some <whisper> housekeeping like dusting, so it was a stay at home day.
So, what to Blip? Well, I can show you some of my handiwork today, a spick and span part of the wall unit with some of my books.
I love books, bookshops are the only shops where I may splurge on buys.
And I don't think I 'll ever get used to e-readers, I need to feel and smell a book and be able to turn pages back and forth.

By the way, if you want to know more about the expression "spick and span", here's what Wiktionary says: From spick-and-span-new (literally “new as a recently made spike and chip of wood”) (1570s), from spick (“nail”) (variant of spike) + Middle English span-new (“very new”) (from circa 1300 until 1800s), from Old Norse span-nyr, from spann (“chip”) (cognate to Old English spón, Modern English spoon, due to old spoons being made of wood) + nyr (“new”) (cognate to Old English nīwe, Modern English new).[1] Imitation of Dutch spiksplinter nieuw (literally “spike-splinter new”)[2] , for a freshly built ship. Observe that fresh woodchips are firm and light (if from light wood), but decay and darken rapidly, hence the origin of the term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.