Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Custom, Cooking, Contemplation and Culture

After the Teachers' Day / Thanksgiving four nearly five day weekend, today was a professional development day which means no kids and an aching posterior (meetings 8am - 4pm).

The weather was simply awful. Freezing cold (many of us wore our jackets throughout the meetings) and lashings of rain which this evening, became icy and thus, along with the reality of walking home in the dark, completed the scenario that kept me home. No chance then of an 'interesting photo' nor of anything even mildly interesting to report. So, what to do? Fortunately, the DDW December challenge Day 2 topic is "a custom" and so I wandered around my flat staring at all artefacts that could be interpreted thus - of which this Turkmenistan traditional wedding silver jewellery particularly caught my eye. I have several of these pieces all very beautiful and culturally very interesting. Buying them was a phase I went through several years ago at the local Sunday Ortakoy market.

Having chosen this image I then went to the kitchen to pour a drink and an hour later found I had made a lentil and nut roast even though I wasn't hungry - so invited some friends to join me for dinner tomorrow (it will heat through just fine). Watch this space.

Meanwhile, contemplation of my dissertation topic after yesterday's ruminations, means that I am now fairly comfortable with my focus on organisational culture and subsequent statement and so I will submit to the university dissertation online forum for feedback and comment my statement below. I have nearly two weeks before I must officially submit to my tutor and so any comments from out there in Blip-land would be really, most welcome. You can all share my progress then :))

The impact of Accreditation on Culture in a High School

"An investigation of the effect of the Official Accreditation process on the school’s culture and how this evaluative process might be used by the Senior Administrative team as an instrument for innovation and change in enhancing a positive and collegial culture within the organisation"

Yay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.