WorldLens

By worldlens

From the News to Blipland

Maybe you've heard that the political situation in Thailand is heating up. There have been a lot of protests, but luckily not in the areas I frequent. This parade of "red shirts" was driving down the street with other similar truckfulls of people and motorcycles zooming by honking their horns. Most were waving with smiles or holding flags and noise makers. I waved back and took my pictures. They didn't seem to mind.

There are definitely areas of Bangkok I wouldn't go to take pictures now, places where soldiers are out and barbed wire up. Bombs have been set off and people have been shot, but the protestors are being strategic where they go and aren't out to hurt the general public. I feel safe as long as I stay in other parts of the city.

One Thai friend lives just a block or two away from where it's gotten really messy. She came over for dinner tonight and said she has been staying with friends since Sunday. Hopefully things will quite down soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.