The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Not showing tonight

The fabulous old Odeon cinema in Cheltenham was an iconic 1930s building with a 'fin' down the centre. Renovation in 1987 to make it into a 7-screen cinema led to the removal of the fin, and the addition of these delightful well-proportioned nudes. Today, the cinema stands sad and empty, thanks to the opening of the characterless Cineworld in the mid-noughties. but I still recall seeing Bridget Jones' diary (part II) there, among other films. See here for further details.

I was in Cheltenham to see the dentist. He is the 5th dentist I have seen since joining the practice about eight years ago. The previous one, whom I had only met once, died suddenly in July at the age of 29. The new guy is very cool: he wears a jumper, not a white coat, is called "Mark" and I think he even has a beard. He's from Belfast. I stopped short of asking him not to die just yet, but only just. Luckily the strange dark spot on my tooth turns out not to be decay, but a mysterious stain. Truth will out...if I smile judiciously, no one but me can see it.

Afterwards I met my mate Dave and we had a mulled wine in a cafe that bridges Regent Street. It was a rare treat to see the twinkling Christmas lights of Cheltenham (Stroud's are rather low-rent) and sniff around Paperchase for nothing in particular. Dave was sad that I didn't want a 3 course meal but I only feel like sleeping at the moment. I've been feeling run down for a few days: gritty eyes, headache on and off, blocked nose, and an overwhelming desire to sleep. So I've agreed to go back and have another tea and shopping session on 18th, when presumably I will feel even more like sleeping...

Nothing more to say except that don't the people who keep sending me bills know that December is a lousy month to send them? Haven't we got a major festival coming up? GOOD NEWS: I managed not to spend any money in L'Occitane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.