All we need is some snow...

The sun came out and the skies were clear today so I headed into town, it was still cold with an Arctic wind blowing promising worse weather to come. I wandered around the Christmas markets and took photos of the stalls and rides. It was fairly quiet with very few customers around, although it got busier after the sun set, which is around 15:45 at this time of year. I took 200 photos so it will take me a while to sort through them and pick out a few half decent shots, I didn't take my tripod with me so most of the post sunset wide angle shots are a bit shaky, this one will do for now. Those familiar with Edinburgh's Christmas will immediately notice that the big wheel has moved this year as has the ice rink, the ice rink used to be at the bottom of the gardens where there is now a Christmas tree maze and Santa train and the ice rink is up beside Princes Street between the big wheel and the Scott Monument. All the traditional German Market huts are still there selling the usual treats of Bratwursts, Apple Strudel, Glühwein, mulled wine as well as cute little decorations. All that is needed now is some snow to make everything look really Christmassy, unfortunately the weather forecast isn't looking good (gale force winds and rin predicted for tomorrow, but no snow for Edinburgh).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.