Another Bridge to Nowhere ?

Not one of my better photos but it was taken under extreme conditions with freezing cold temperatures, high winds and very high water levels and some extremely excited dogs pulling at the lead.

This is a picture of our normal afternoon riverside walk where the path normally extends out to the curving line of grasses you see running through the water. High tides and a storm surge pushed the river water level way above its normal levels. There are three very steep steps leading up to the bridge which cannot be seen as they are under water so the water level must be at least 18 inches above the level of the path by the bridge. I have waded through previously when its been 6 inches to 9 inches deep but a wet suit is what I would have needed to walk the pathway today and I had with me two dogs who are not particularly fond of getting wet.

For us it was just an inconvenience but it sounds like for some, further down the east coast, it is going to be far more damaging and my thoughts are with them and the other victims of the storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.