Fishing the Waimak

A perfect evening, no one caught any fish but it was warm, barely a breeze and the company was good. On my second visit there were familiar faces and it was good to chat and catch up.

Definitely worth a peek at large

I'd called into my local Hunting and Fishing on my way home from work for advice on fishing the bridges on the Waimakariri River in the evening. The guy in the left foreground served me and was ever so helpful.

Turned out he was heading out to fish too. He does something called Spey fishing (after the River Spey in Scotland). It's a form of fly fishing and poetry to watch.

I wasn't quite so poetic when I had a go but I did avoid removing my ear with the fly or embedding it in leg or bum, so I'm off to a good start ;-) He did make the comment "spin fishing to snob in 20 minutes" so I must have done ok.

I enjoyed the experience and grasped enough to know that when done correctly it is effortless, graceful and has rhythm. I think I might have many fishing adventures in front of me with a new friend. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.