rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

An Attempt at All Saints

Royal Leamington Spa is full of churches, but "The Church" most often refers to All Saints' Parish Church. It was rebuilt in 1842 after a very Victorian vicar decided the previous building was too modest for a burgeoning town which was a popular resort for aristocrats taking time off from doing nothing. The resultant Gothic revival architecture is sublime. From both the inside and outside, it is one of the most impressive buildings in Leamington.

I'm moderately happy with this photograph. I played around with it to diminish the glare of the bastarding sky. Seriously, the sky is too bright. Maybe I should've gone inside the church to file a complaint to the boss.

I plan to perfect this shot in the future. Preferably the blurry man who gave me funny looks won't be there and I can get a more natural light. Britain has entered its four weeks of winter when sunrise is followed almost immediately by sunset.

In other news, my mother visited today. She complained about my bedroom and tutted at my lack of "proper tea." Apparently loose leaf Earl Grey is inferior to Sainsbury's Red Label teabags. Yeah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.