The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Buzzard dawn

The sunrise was worth waiting for this morning. Before the sun crested the horizon, the clouds glowed a deep red colour. This was taken just after sunrise, when the sky was on fire. The buzzard was perched close to the trig point on the Knott where the big red cows were grazing, and I managed two shots before he flew. He was silhouetted against the bright sky, and I wasn't sure until I looked at this and lightened the shadows, whether he was facing my way.

On another subject, the first thing I did after getting dressed was check the loft. We have a mouse. He has been gnawing the insulation on the pipes for the solar heated water. I had set the tipping trap for him, a clever little device which when baited with chocolate catches the mouse live. It has always worked without fail in the past. But this is a very smart mouse. He ate the chocolate, sprang the trap, and then gnawed his way out through the plastic. That was yesterday. Today, he sprang the trap and escaped through the small hole he made the night before. There's probably no point in buying another trap for him to do the same thing, but how can I catch him live? And maybe he is actually a lady mouse, I need to catch him/her to find out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.