Third Year Abroad

By LittleLots

Saturday I had two friends from Edinburgh come to visit for the day, so another excuse to visit the Alhambra! Having dropped bags off at mine, we went on to Babel in Calle Elvira for tapas before starting the trek up the hill towards the Alhambra. We'd actually got tickets this time, although unfortunately not for los Palacios Nazares which were sold out weeks in advance, apparently December is a popular visiting time. As soon as we got there you could see why, despited being technically winter the Autumn colours have just started to emerge and its still warm enough to just wear a jacket. When I'd imagined going in early December I'd pictured a grey and rainy day, but of course that was not the case. As well as doing the parts I'd already seen, we also had time to wander around the Generalife (gardens) this time as well. It even has its own palace (clearly four just wasn't quite enough) complete with fountains and walls covered in the typical Moorish designs.

Once we'd pretty much covered the Alhambra, we went back down the hill and up the other side, making it to Mirador San Nicolas just as the sun was going down and caught the last of the sunset over the city. Couldn't have timed it better if I'd tried. Feeling fairly pleased with my tour guiding skills we headed home, only for me to realise I'd forgotten my keys. Knew things were going that little bit too smoothly. So we went to Nido be Buho for wine and waffles until someone was there to let us in, at least there could be worse places to wait it out. Having got into my house and chilled for a bit, we headed into the centre to see the Christmas lights, went to Hannigan's for a drink and finished the evening with a kebab. So impressively I think we managed to cover all aspects of Granada in a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.