Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Cake

Picked up the cake for our party this afternoon from the bakery. The woman who decorated it carried it carefully to our car (after drying the freshly washed floor in the kitchen so she wouldn’t slip!) When it was safely set down in the back of the station wagon, she said
“there’s just one thing I want to know”
me: “what’s that?”
her: “How did you do it?”
me: “Do what?”
her: “Manage to stay married for 50 years?”
her: Marriage is so hard!

I’m sorry I didn’t have the presence of mind to take her picture carrying the cake..she did a fantastic job of matching it to the wedding cake of 50 years ago...

Later my lovely book club friends and husbands enjoyed a fabulous and fun pot luck dinner here, and LOTS of cake (each layer was a different flavor) and a holiday book swap. It was the beginning (well, after our Uganda adventure..) of celebrating our 50th anniversary - It’s actually Dec 21 ... right now I’m too tired, but there will be more to add later...... and I’ll put some pix of the party on flickr ....tomorrow…

(the picture. yes that's us. children. who knew this love would last and last… the photo is taken by an uncle I think. (no official photographers at my parents house. but a great cake!)

Edit; The flickr party pix

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.