In praise of . . .

. . . clean windows.

When we first saw this house, one of the main things we noticed was how light it was. It had been built by the people who live in it and had been designed with light in mind. So of course my one priority is to have clean windows. It’s not an easy task, as it’s a big house with lots of them, but I don’t mind cleaning windows. I hate most housework, or at least feel it’s a waste of time, but windows I don’t mind doing at all. That’s inside. I will not go and do the outside and most certainly won’t climb ladders.

After a succession of pretty useless window cleaners. You know, the ones who don’t do the corners, who miss windows out and think you won’t notice, who put a note through the door to say they were there when you were out and you just wonder what they did, etc. So, I made an agreement with the other person living in this house. I would do the inside and he would do the outside. Well, I won’t go into exactly how successful that arrangement was!! Suffice to say, I was soon looking for a window cleaner again.

Then . . . Walker’s Windows arrived and he is wonderful. Does a splendid job on every window. He’s reliable, cheery and takes the job seriously. And he’s local and independent, which means he fits in with our policy of using local trades people whenever we can.

So, here he is. A very quick picture and obviously it’s blurred as he moved, but I liked his smile here and it’s just like he is. A very grey day, as you can see, but at least we now get all of the little bit of light that is around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.