dsparks83

By dsparks83

What's all the fuss about - Cormac McCarthy

I could make a little mini series like this if I find enough things to complain about and take pictures of.
So there are two of the books on my bookshelf, nice and easy taking pictures of your own bookshelf. I got thinking about McCarthy as he has recently had his first screenplay made into a film - "The Counsellor" which my sister saw and said was rubbish and in one review I read was described as "aggressively boring". Yet McCarthy is a well renowned well respected author.
He is most well known for his books that have been made into screen plays
No country for old men - a film I found quite boring but thenI did watch it on a long haul flight and it is a bit slow. The book was that memorable I picked it up and started reading only to realise I had already read it.
The road - bleak and alright, the book wasn't bad from what I remember
All the pretty horses - I remember the film not being very good at all.

The thing that gets me though is he has a writing style which doesn't use a lot of punctuation, apparently an I'll do it my way attitude. But it just makes it harder to read, less clear, and it really doesn't add anything to the writing so much so that it comes across to me as a gimmick - or maybe it's just all over my head.

That said though he's held in high regard and is thought of as a more considered read so he still gets a place on the bookshelf so I look more interesting to everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.