A ghostly morning

This morning I ran to Maungawhau (Mount Eden); actually walked up the steep bits. I got high enough, and with a view o the horizon, mere seconds before the sun appeared above the horizon into an almost cloudless sky. I took a number of photos of the rising sun, and then continued to the top of the mountain by the Trig Station.

Sitting on a lookout watching the sunrise were two young women. From what I could see, they had taken photos of the sunrise with their phones and were then busy sending the photos to their friends, real or electronic. I'm old fashioned enough to want to use a camera, and I'm happy to post my blip later in the day.

Like now. This photo was taken on my way back down Maungawhau. I positioned myself so that the sun would not burn a hole in my retina or the sensor in the camera (not sure if there is really any risk of the latter). Because the light was still very bright, the buildings of the city cannot really be seen even in large.

Came up to the beach this afternoon. I will have the opportunity tomorrow to work in the garden, and am looking forward to doing so.

This continues the Saturday Sunrise series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.