Wishing mum a Merry Christmas

I went to see my mum’s grave today. She died in February, so this will be our first Christmas without her.

My mum loved Christmas and could not get enough of ornaments and decorations, so I wanted to make sure everything looked nice and Christmassy for her. I also brought some treats for Bridie, as I strongly believe that Bridie and my mum are together and it felt wrong to bring Christmas things for my mum and nothing for Bridie.

My mum is buried at Vestre Cementary in Copenhagen, which has a special section reserved for officers of the Salvation Army. Vestre Cementary is a beautiful place and quite big, so I went to see my mum's grave and decorate it with the things I had brought - and then I took the boys for a walk around the cemetery. We walked for about an hour and enjoyed the peace and the feeling of being close to my mum. When we came back, we I spent some more time at my mum's grave. It was hard to leave...

Eventually we drove home and did some shopping as Helle is coming for tea tomorrow. I did some training with the boys and now it is time to sit down and relaxe.

I put more pictures from my day on Flickr. Have a look!
There is a section in Vestre Cementary, for more than 8000 Germans that died in Denmark during World War II. It is a moving place to visit. So sad to think of all those young people, who went to war and died so far away from home. There is a section for 39 British soldiers, who died here during World War I too.

See you tomorrow!
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.