rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

All Saints at Night

I locked myself out of the house today without my camera. I had my laptop and just about everything else I usually carry, but not my key. I went to Costa on the parade to make the most of their free wifi and dwell on what I was going to do with myself until the estate agents opened on Monday – and I'm unsure if past historic is the correct tense given that Monday hasn't happened yet.

When I went to the counter for my second massimo latté, I found amongst the change in my pocket my key. I must have idly transferred it from one pair of trousers to another. It was only off the chain because I took it when I went for a run two mornings ago. With euphoria in place of panic, I ran home like Charlie Bucket.

I eventually took my camera out just after 10pm. I got a few long exposures on Jephson bridge, but despite resting my camera – who really needs a name – on a sturdy Victorian wall, I shook her slightly and none of the snaps came out very well at all. After a lot of wandering, I came past All Saints again and took nigh a dozen shots of varying shutter speeds and other settings. In the end, this was the best I had. I really ought to get a tripod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.