Objective Abstracts and a Football Rant...

Right, I'm after a BlipConsensus on my work photoclub monthly competition entry.

The theme is 'abstract'.

Option 1 - This entry. I saw this done in a photo magazine, so tried to replicate it. My lack of studio facilities meant I had to do a bit of fiddling to darken the background but otherwise, fairly happy with the way it turned out.

Option 2 - Skylight in the Renovated Tanfield office. This was from my DoorsOpenDay mission yesterday. I really like that I only had to do minor fiddling to increase the contrast on it slightly. Would have been better if I had a wider angle lens and could have squared it but tools not available.

What do yous reckon?

----------------------------------------------------------

Unrelated Rant if you feel like reading on... I witnessed a local football game in the park yesterday whilst taking the kids down to the recycling. This was adults playing and watching an organised football match between two amateur (I assume.) teams.

My goodness gracious, the air was blue. What a bunch of savages. Aside from the on pitch swearing and occasional scuffle, the antics of some of the spectators were interesting in a not so comfortable way. There were a couple of rather animated specimens but one in particular was hurling all sorts of abuse at the referee and linesmen to the point where I thought he could quite easily have gotten violent had he been in the near vicinity.

Now I assume this extreme behavior is more or less confined to this level of the game. My assumption on limited or no experience of the football spectation but my thinking is that in kids games, although I'm sure I've seen some very 'passionate' sideline parents, it is filtered through common sense of kids involved activities. On the other side of the scale at the professional level, I guess the separation between players and spectators means that it probably gets pretty colourful language but the violent body language isn't as pronounced.

That said there will be exceptions on both sides of what I would consider healthy audience participation. It was rather frightening and most definitely not the best location for Bethany, Ewan and I to watch proceedings. I remember my primary school headmaster, a Mr Barr, being a rather aggressive football coach. I attribute his attitude to my not ever enjoying football fully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.