Mikey88

By Mikey88

Bracken2

Another study of the bracken frond I blipped a couple of days ago. It has dried out and twisted round itself even more as it has been outside.

I tried a different lighting set up this time - I had the flash at right angles to the camera to the left of the bracken and a reflector on the right hand side, so no light was cast directly onto the white card which I was using as a background. I was hoping to get the whole lot in focus and used my wide angle lens, rather than the macro, but even at f22, depth of field wasn't quite up to it.

As I had run out of photo magenta when printing yesterday, my first job this morning was to go to PC World to get another, which meant a run all the way to the outskirts of Plymouth. When I got there, they had every colour except photo magenta. A kindly assistant suggested I try a shop in Plymouth City Centre, so off I went again.

'Shouldn't be too busy on a Sunday morning,' I thought to myself. How wrong can you be? All the shops were open for Christmas shopping and I had to queue to get into town and then I had to queue to get into the car park and then park on level 4 - we usually sail into this one and get a place on the first level.

After this, it was straightforward. The shop had a photo magenta cartridge, and as everyone else was coming IN to Plymouth, I had no problems getting out - but still didn't get home until about 11.30am, so was much later getting the photos finished than I had hoped. Still, it got done in the end and now I'm tryng to avoid the Spurs-Liverpool score so that I can watch it on Match of The Day.

Tomorrow, I'm taking pictures in Santa's Grotto, so I hope they turn out as well as the ones at took at the Nativity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.