Start of the Big Kend

Well that’s the weekend over.
When I was very young I clearly recall thinking that a “Kend” must be a group of days. Saturday and Sunday was a small set of just two days hence it was a “Wee Kend”. It never occurred to me that there was never mention of a “Big Kend”. Oh, to be thirty five again.
I had four very different blips to choose from such was the changing weather today. Early, a snow capped Stob Coire na Ceannain but I have done it quite recently, likewise the scarred woodland at Upper Inverroy. I think Mrs Cakes has gone with the amazing red sky this evening so this is a section of the new extended harvesting road nearer the back of Bohuntin Hill. It was dry morning and afternoon. In the middle there was heavy icy rain coming horizontal in gale force winds. That’s when M and I took Caley for his walk. This was taken at a lull in the storm. We arrived home soaked despite being well attired. The wind simply drives the rain up your sleeves and down your neck and seeks out every weak seam.
I do admire the skill of the machine men who have formed this track and this particular crushed rock seems to glisten even on a dull day.

I have a big day of prep, errands, processing and planning tomorrow for the coming Kend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.