Combi31

By Combi31

Rough Legged Buzzard

Buteo Lagopus these are called buzzards, but they are actually a hawk, but closely resemble buzzards. It is sometimes called a rough legged hawk and is here for the winter.

It looks OK in large too

Before I saw this shot on my screen I knew it wasn't a buzzard as it hovers and hunts much like a kestrel.

Another beautiful day … I can get used to this - 17°c and bright sunshine, the moon is out now, sending beautiful mauves and pinks across the tops of The Pyrénées mountains - a beautiful sight and a very big moon this evening.

As I was driving down here, which is 5 minutes from my house, I was no more than 2 meters from this bird as it was about to land on a fence post, I tried to get my camera in hand, but it had retreated to the branch where I took this shot from.

Commenting may be a little sporadic as Mrs Combi has just clinched the Internet provider deal of the century … resulting in us having no Internet for between 5 and 21 days … oh, the temptation to utter those words "I told you so" is so strong, but I have resisted thus far … :/

I hope your Monday is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.