Steller's Jays at Play

This is a composite from three photos I took this morning during a moment when the sun came out and made it possible to catch the jays in mid air. The two birds down on the railing came from one photograph. The one on the right is the right bird again in a different pose in a repeat exposure sequence. The one on the left is from a whole different sequence. I thought that they would make a good composite so I put them together. Here is how:

I made separate layers for the three photos and aligned them on the roof line of the house behind. The one with the two birds on the railing is the top layer and I erased through it to show the birds on the lower two layers. The middle layer is the bird on the left and I erased the area where the guy on the right is. The bottom layer is the right most bird and the rest is hidden beneath the other two layers. There is actually a second bird on that layer but he is hidden because he doesn't fit with the other three. Did you get all that? This is not a test. ;-) Large version here.

Another busy day today. Appointments and shopping. But tonight will be a quiet one. Ahhh. We are catching up on Downton Abbey so Helena will have seen most of it by the time Season 4 begins. Arvin and I have already seen it but it is so great we don't mind watching it again.

Thanks for sticking around even though I've been a bit sketchy with my commenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.