Practice night

An evening run today. After a full day at the inpatient unit, I needed to clear my head. So, while S was out at her poetry support group I went for a short run. First, I looked at some of the Christmas lights on houses in Franklin Road. Over the last ten or so years this has become almost an institution. Too much daylight to really show them at their best.

When I was almost back home, I went past the Free Church of Tonga, in Crummer Road. Lovely sound of Tongan drumming and melodious singing attracted my attention. In the drive way beside the old house which houses the church was a group of congregation members practicing for their annual street concert.

They travel around the inner city residential areas, singing and dancing as a group. There was a brass band at one time, which barely held the tunes being played. It is part of Christmas in the city of Auckland.

Of the photos I took, I liked this best because it has captured the action more than any of the others. Not just the singers; you can see the blurred drumstick (a solid piece of timber) being wielded by the man in orange.

Additionally, I like how there were a number of the performers who had spotted me, and did not seem to mind at all, although the lad in the green T-shirt seems to have had a break in his concentration.

Looks good larger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.