Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Taking Flight

When I saw the weather forecast last night I half hoped there might be a good sunrise. However, as I prepared for my early morning run the only clouds were on the horizon, blocking out any potential feast of colours.

Never mind, at least by the time I reached the beach the sun was breaking through with some golden hues on the horizon. Its always a great run when you can stop every few minutes for another blip. Suddenly the pain and breathlessness is gone as you are absorbed in the moment.

Unlike some blippers, who can use their dogs to get the birds flying for the camera, I just had to run faster and have the camera ready for a quick shot. There was something about the undulating line of the gulls, which almost mirrors the patterns in the washed up seaweed, that appealed to me in this shot.

This is the first sunrise for quite a few weeks and it may be the last for a while given the forecast for yet more storms. Time to once again batten down the hatches!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.