Turnin' 30

Well I didn't see that one coming!

In the last ten years I have ...

Finished my apprenticeship as a joiner.
Went to work in the "family business" for a year with my dad.
Started up on my own as a joiner.
Decided it wasn't for me and folded the company.
Went to college
Met Jill
Moved to Glasgow
(Had a series of demotivating jobs like selling gas over the phone or chapping doors)
Went to uni
Took an internship
Married Jill
Went veggie
Graduated uni with a first.
Worked hard and turned my internship into my first post uni job.
Moved from my tiny wee village in Scotland to one of the biggest cities in America.

In my first 18 years I only ever lived in one house. In the last 10 years I have lived in 12 different houses!

Ive welcomed some new family members into the world, said my final goodbyes to others, made many new friends and lost a few too.

Ive came across some people who have directly influenced the direction my life has taken and the kind of person I want to be. "God only knows where I'd be without" them.

I always felt that when I was younger I did way too much fucking around. I always had the best intentions at heart but for whatever reason I'd get sidetracked or go down the wrong path.

If I could go back and do a lot of it again I would! But I guess that's just life.

Maybe I wouldn't be who I am today if what had gone before was different.

But after all this time i'm firmly on the path that I was always looking for and by the side of my good lady I will march on through the night.

___________

Thanks for the birthday cake Jilly, it was very sweet : ) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.