The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Anticipating the woofs

In just over a week it will be the first anniversary of Gus's arrival in Arnside and Arnside and Beyond. He has grown hugely in confidence, but he remains a challenge to photograph, he still gets nervous if asked to stay in one place, and as soon as he sees me raise the camera, he turns and runs towards me. I've learned techniques of distracting him and catching him unawares. This is a classic location to steal a photo of him, as he waits at the top of the steps at the entrance to the woof tree walk. Out of sight, I set the camera ready, then quickly lean round the corner of the wall, and click. One chance, if I'm lucky. Today I managed two shots.

Just as well as it was a dull, dull day that ended with wild winds and driving rain. But this photo somehow sums up the day, as I have several times seen this face following me as I walked away from the car. I love him so much. Wifie says when she first met him, she saw he had a beautiful soul, and maybe he saw that in her too. He adores her.

Other things: hopes of getting the cooker fixed in time for Christmas were dashed today. The hob does work, but three of the four rings are either full on or off. The failed parts are not in stock and unlikely to appear in the next few days. It should make cooking the Christmas lunch interesting, a bit more scope than usual for serving up burnt offerings.

You can also see Wee Gus here, 4570 miles away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.